Font Size * * *
share it

Stanford SPARK Program Founder Shares Success of Partnerships with Local Experts

At “Crossing the Chasm: From Bench to Business” International Conference hosted by STPI, Professor Daria Mochly-Rosen, the Founder of SPARK Program, shared 10-year successful academia-industry collaboration experience of Stanford SPARK Program with local experts from academia and industry in Taiwan.  The participants all agreed that both academia and industry sectors need to be further closely linked and cooperate together in order to shorten the timeline of new drugs and medical devices development and enhance the efficiency of communication.
Professor Daria Mochly-Rosen’s keynote speech entitled “SPARK: From Academic Discovery to Patient Cure: 10 Years of Experience” was followed by 2 speech sessions.  They were “From the Bench Point of View-How Academia Co-develop with Industry” and “From the Business Point of View-How to Promote Academia-Industry Collaboration in Early Stage”.  Local experts including Professor Yoa-Pu Hu from National Defense Medical Center, Chairman Bryon Chen from Advagene Biopharma, President Calvin Chen from TWi Biotechnology and Chief Operating Officer Carol Cheng from TRPMA were invited to introduce the existing cooperation mechanisms in Taiwan to around 120 participants.  By means of international experts’ various viewpoints, the Conference successfully guided the participants to conduct in-depth discussion on possible models to promote academia-industry cooperation in the early stage in Taiwan.
SPARK Taiwan Program was introduced from Stanford SPARK and launched in 2012.  Operated by Science and Technology Policy Research and Information Center (STPI), SPARK Taiwan Program aims to provide assistance to those that are in the pharmaceutical industry or the medical device industry with potential products but are lacking in initial commercial planning for entrance into the market.  The Program cultivates future teams and team projects in preparation for the entrance into the industry.  Currently there are 5 anchor universities involved in SPARK Taiwan Program.  They are National Taiwan University, National Yang-Ming University, Taipei Medical University in northern Taiwan; China Medical University (cooperated with Asia University) in central Taiwan; National Cheng Kung University in southern Taiwan.